In this new series of articles, we’ll be showing you how you can lock down your various social network profiles, ensuring your content is seen by only those you wish.
We’ll start with Twitter. It’s one of the simplest networks to lock down as you are provided with two options: either a public or protected account.
Protected accounts allow only your followers to see your tweets (and subsequently, any future followers need to be approved). Additionally, other users will not be able to retweet your Tweets, nor will your Tweets be found in Google or Twitter search results.
Once your account is protected, users can see your bio and profile images but all other content, including Tweets and media. will be hidden to users not following you.
If you at one time had public Tweets, those Tweets will always be public and searchable, even after you change your settings to protected. Only Tweets made after updating your settings will be protected.
There are organisations that use Twitter as an intranet, so protected accounts make sense. Then there are people who use Twitter as a wider, faster SMS tool, so again it makes sense. But what about when you want to use Twitter to do what Twitter does best? To meet people you’d otherwise meet, or to find opportunity. For us, the benefits of an open account far outweigh those for protected accounts. How about you – do you protect your tweets and if so, what’s the thinking behind this choice?
Read next Verify Your Website on Pinterest